Track invites

Grant learners controlled access to your tracks

This guide explains how to create track invites to grant learners access to one or more tracks.

Background

Track Invites allow you to share tracks via links or gated forms.

Invite types

There are two types of track invites: self-paced and live event. The Live Event invite type is suited for Instructors running technical workshops. The self-paced invite type is designed to be shared with learners, who will complete the tracks on their own time.

Invite restrictions

You can set the following restrictions to control access and consumption:

  • Expire the learner's access to the track(s) after a specific time. Use this limit to set how long a track will be available to learners by specifying a duration by years/months/days/hours/minutes. Or set it to Forever for unlimited access.

  • Expire the learner's access to the track(s) after a specific amount of plays. Use this limit to set how many times the track can be played. Or set it to 0 if you want unlimited plays.

  • Set the track invite link itself to expire on a given date and time Use this limit to allow the track invite link to expire on a specific date and time.

  • Set the track invite link itself to expire after the access limit is reached Use this limit to set how many times the track invite link can be accessed. Or set it to 0 if you want unlimited access.

  • Specify who can access your track invite and how Use this to restrict access to people you specify, to anyone leaving their details, or to anyone with the link.

  • Show (or hide) the sharing button Use this to make it easier for end users to share your invite with others. Note that toggling this button off does not prohibit end users from sharing the invite link with others.

Creating a track invite

It's only possible to create a track invite from the Web UI.

  1. From the Content page, select Share Content.

  2. From the Manage track invites page, select Create.

  3. Click the Sharing method. This is either a link or an embedded track with a form.

  4. If you choose link, select if the invite is self-paced or for a live event.

  5. Provide a Title and optionally fill in Public/Private Descriptions.

  6. Click which tracks you want associated with the invite. Tracks are shown to learners in the order in which you add them to the invite.

  7. Set content restrictions, indicating how long content will be available once an invite is accepted, and how many plays each learner can have.

  8. Set Invite restrictions, indicating how long an invite will remain active, and how many learners can access it. You can also optionally enable easier sharing by exposing a Share button.

  9. Set Access settings, indicating whether anyone can access the link, anyone who leaves their details, or only specific learners.

  10. Click Save.

  11. Click ••• on your newly created invite, followed by Copy invite link.

  12. Share your invite.

Gating access with a form

Invites with the Access setting of Anyone leaving details are gated with a form. This form is used to collect user information on invites.

To edit the form fields, follow steps below:

  1. From the Content page, select Share Content from the left-side menu.

  2. On the Manage track invites page, select the Form tab.

  3. Edit the form fields.

  4. Select Save.

Note that learners who have already submitted the form before (on any of your invites) will not be asked to leave their details again (regardless of changes to the form fields).

Edit a track invite

Changes to the tracks and content restriction will not affect learners who have already claimed access to your track.

  1. From the Content page, select Share Content from the left-side menu.

  2. Click ••• on the track invite you want to edit, followed by Edit.

  3. Change the fields you want to adjust.

  4. Click Save.

Delete a track invite

Learners who already claimed access to the track continue to have access if you delete the track invite link. Create an invite link with track access limits to prevent unlimited access.

  1. From the Content page, select Share Content from the left-side menu.

  2. Click ••• on the track invite you want to edit, followed by Delete.

  3. A confirmation box will appear, click OK.

Duplicate a track invite

  1. From the Content page, select Share Content from the left-side menu.

  2. Click ••• on the track invite you want to edit, followed by Duplicate.

  3. Change the fields you want to adjust.

  4. Click Save when you are ready.

Invite statuses

On the Manage track invites page, you can see the status for each invite and filter on them. By default we filter out Expired invites. The table below explains the different statuses:

Last updated